Is Christ Really Enough for Me?

Honestly, friends, I have really been struggling.

With loneliness. With lack of community.

With the aching desire to see Jesus face-to-face.

And this morning in church, with tears streaming down, we proclaimed this radical truth in song:

“Christ is enough for me
Christ is enough for me
Everything I need is in You
Everything I need.”

And it begs me to ask the question… is Christ really enough for me?

Because I would really like a husband one day. And if the Lord never wills me to have one, will He be enough for me?

And I certainly hope and pray that I will soon be healed of my chronic migraines, but if not, will He be enough for me?

And if our government continues to fail and our world continues towards complete and utter turmoil, will He be enough for us?

And then I think of the Israelites in the Wilderness, how they were hungry, and because we serve a God who hears our grumbles and cries, He provided. In Exodus 16:4, He declares that He would “rain bread from heaven” for His people, so that His glory and grace will be revealed. And verse 35 tells us that “the people of Israel ate the manna forty years.”

FORTY YEARS.

I don’t know about y’all, but once I eat a meal, I can hardly think about eating it again for A LONG TIME.

But these people were living off of the same food for FORTY YEARS.

But because God knows what we need and He so graciously provides accordingly, the manna that He delivered to His people (plus the water and quail that He gave) met all of their nutritional demands.

They had all that they needed.

And it’s funny, because in John 6, Jesus references the manna that the Israelites ate in the wilderness and declares,

“For the bread of God is He who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world. . . I AM the Bread of Life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.” (v.33, v. 35)

I believe that the manna in the Old Testament is a foreshadowing of Jesus, the Bread of Life, that came hundreds of years later.

I do not doubt that the Israelites were tired of eating that same food. every. single. day. for forty years, but it is almost as if there, in the pages of Exodus, we see God asking the question: “Will you let Me be enough for you?”

And as it is written, “Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God,” (Deuteronomy 8:3) He is asking us now, in each and every moment –

“Will you let Me be enough for You?”

Because the truth is this: you are not, and never will be enough…on your own.

But Christ in you, the hope of glory, will forever be enough. 

He has never failed, and He surely won’t start now.

So this is not a matter of whether or not Christ is enough, but whether or not I will let Him be enough for me.

In the same way that all of the nutritional needs of the Israelites were met by the manna, every need that you and I could ever have can only be fully satisfied in Christ alone. 

Christ is enough for me. And I simply have to trust Him when He says that.

Because has He ever failed to fulfill any one of His promises? Certainly not, and all of the promises of God find their YES in Jesus.

“And my God WILL meet ALL of your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

Amen and Hallelujah, Jesus – You are more than enough for me. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

